26 thoughts on “wordless wednesday

  1. Spectacularly precise and well-maintained place! Beautiful blue, with a bit of life & light at the bottom… Is this in Europe, Germany maybe? It could be anything from a prison to a convent (same thing sometimes)!

    1. Thanks, Allison. Nope. Not Austria nor Germany. But Waterloo, Ontario. The old Seagram’s building. Which is directly behind the Balsillie School of International Affairs, which is… yup… the Balsillie of Blackberry fame. [BlackBERRY vs Black Forest]

  2. I love this. It made me laugh and it made me envious — just so cool to pick that shot out of the daytime city scene … somewhere. Where? And the red tree at the bottom, such a sweet feathery contrast to the regimen of blue shutters. And I agree with Allison above, this has GOT to be Germany or Austria! Each shutter open at the same angle. Achtung!

    1. I’m so glad you noticed the tree, Barbara! At first it annoyed me. I wanted only the windows in the shot. Then I realized the tree gave it context. And a necessary imbalance to balance the overdone ‘balance’… Easy mistake to assume Aryan origins. But it’s booze not Bavarians… [though Waterloo, so not far off!]. The former Seagram’s Building.

    1. I agree. It has the look of a well run insane asylum. It’s actually the old Seagram Building in Waterloo. Now housing a museum, among other things, I think.

  3. OMG, Carin. I love the repetition in shape, colour and tone! At the same time, I wonder how long it took ‘whomever’ to run around that huge building to open all those shutters with such precision!

Leave a comment