16 thoughts on “wordless wednesday

  1. Fascinating, Carin. What is it about shadows that draws us, even as grownups? Remember Peter Pan’s? Wendy: “You can’t stick it on with soap, Peter. It needs sewing. That’s the proper way to do it. Although, come to think of it, I’ve never thought about it before… um… sewing shadows, I mean.” (Had to look that up to get it right.)

    1. As for what draws us… maybe that a shadow can’t be contrived, that whatever we think we look like is slightly distorted by the reality of the shadow’s perspective. The ‘real’ version of me is always a surprise. But only for a moment, then I recognize it. And there’s a strange comfort in that.

  2. something so otherwordly about the literal “shadow” self. Love the massive proportion, like you are throwing your big spirit before you. and the light is fabulous as well, the “in between times” light. I like the tree shadow as well, above your shadow head, and the colour contrast with the dirt road.

    1. Ha! Didn’t even notice the tree shadow. I was actually taking a picture of the morning glories in the foreground and then saw the giant me. And, yeah, I love the shadow self. Something magical there.

Leave a comment